ElevenLabs Music vs Udio: Section Editing and Plan Prices Compared
ElevenLabs Music vs Udio on lyric input, section handling, credit allowances and monthly prices, using only fields both official pages state. ElevenLabs scores 88.75; Udio is not ranked.
Verdict: On the 2026.10 method, ElevenLabs Music ranks first at 88.75, and Udio is listed as not ranked. Basis: the fields both official pages state, namely lyric input, section handling, credit allowances and prices. Udio’s download and distribution terms are unverified, so this page does not compare them. Suits: a writer who wants a published credit rate and single-section regeneration, or a writer who wants to test lyrics on Udio’s daily allowance and will read Udio’s current terms before any release.
For this page, a song writer means a tool that takes lyrics and returns them sung, as a full song with vocals. ElevenLabs Music and Udio both accept lyrics you write, and both can write lyrics from a description. A credit is each vendor’s usage unit, and the two vendors price it differently. The useful question for a lyric writer is what happens when one section is wrong, and what the monthly plan buys.
The comparison
| Field (dimension) | ElevenLabs Music | Udio | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Own lyrics (lyric input) | Yes, “Create original music from a lyric” | Yes, in the lyrics editor under Custom | ElevenLabs Music; Udio help |
| AI-written lyrics (lyric input) | Stated in the page description | Yes, from a song description | ElevenLabs Music; Udio help |
| Section handling (structure) | Select a section and regenerate only that part | “Extend songs” listed; section replacement not confirmed (unverified) | ElevenLabs Music; Udio pricing |
| Free allowance | 10,000 credits a month | 10 credits a day and 100 a month | ElevenLabs pricing; Udio pricing |
| Entry paid tier, monthly | $6 a month (Starter) | $10 a month (Standard) | ElevenLabs pricing; Udio pricing |
| Entry paid tier, annual per month | $5 a month (annual equivalent) | $8 a month, billed annually | ElevenLabs pricing; Udio pricing |
| Creator or Pro tier, monthly | $22 a month (Creator); $99 a month (Pro) | $30 a month (Pro) | ElevenLabs pricing; Udio pricing |
| Paid credits a month | 30,000 (Starter); 121,000 (Creator); 600,000 (Pro) | 2,400 (Standard); 6,000 (Pro) | ElevenLabs pricing; Udio pricing |
| Credit cost of music | About 900 credits per minute | Not stated | ElevenLabs pricing |
| Streaming status (distribution) | Stated by tier | Not verified | ElevenLabs Music |
| Content ID status (distribution) | Not stated | Not verified | ElevenLabs Music |
ElevenLabs’ Creator tier also carries a first-month promotional price of $11. We left it out, because a promotion is not a list price.
Udio fields we did not verify
These are the Udio fields this page does not state. Each one is marked “not verified” or “not confirmed” in the table above.
- Download and distribution terms. udio.com/terms redirected to a login page during the capture, so no Udio terms text was read.
- Streaming status and Content ID status. Neither was read from an official Udio page.
- Section replacement. Udio’s pricing table lists Extend songs. The snapshot we read did not confirm a section-replacement feature on any tier.
- Which tier carries each feature. The feature table’s ticks could not be matched to tiers in the snapshot, so a feature is not assigned to a plan here.
- Credit cost per song. Udio does not state one on the pricing page we read.
Where ElevenLabs Music leads on the evidence
Section handling is the main difference in the evidence we could read. ElevenLabs describes a select-and-regenerate action for one section of a song. For a verse and chorus structure, that means you can fix the second chorus without regenerating the verses around it, if your plan includes the feature. Udio’s pricing table lists Extend songs, and the pages we read do not say what it changes beyond that name, so we do not compare it with ElevenLabs’ section action.
ElevenLabs also states its distribution position in more places. Its music page states commercial use by tier, including “Commercial, no streaming” on Starter, and its FAQ excludes film, TV and Studio Games on self-serve plans. Udio’s distribution line is not verified in this capture, so we cannot compare it.
Where Udio is harder to compare
Udio’s monthly credits are stated, but its pricing page gives no per-song credit cost. ElevenLabs gives a rate per minute of music, so you can estimate how many minutes a Starter or Creator plan covers. For Udio you would need to test a few songs first and count the credits yourself.
Udio’s daily allowance is another difference. Its free tier gives 10 credits a day, and the monthly cap is 100. That suits a short test of a lyric; it does not suit a steady workflow. ElevenLabs’ free tier is a monthly pool of 10,000 credits, which is a different shape of allowance.
Who each tool suits
- ElevenLabs Music suits a writer who wants a published credit rate, regenerates single sections, and needs the streaming line by tier before release.
- Udio suits a writer who wants to test lyric writing on a daily allowance, and who will confirm the current terms before any release.
Before you choose either one for a release, read the lyric rights checklist. Ranking details: home page list and method page.
Evidence and method
We read ElevenLabs’ music page and pricing page on 2026-10-16. We read Udio’s pricing page as a browser snapshot, with its monthly view read after a click, and its help-center article on custom lyrics as a search excerpt. We did not retrieve Udio’s terms. The comparison does not score sound quality, vocal realism or generation speed, and it makes no claim about either product’s output.
FAQ
Which one costs less per month?
The entry paid tiers differ. ElevenLabs Starter is $6 a month and Udio Standard is $10 a month, on the monthly views captured on 2026-10-16. ElevenLabs' first-month offer of $1 is a promotion and is not used as a list price.
How many songs does a credit buy?
ElevenLabs states about 900 credits per minute of generated music. Udio's pricing page gives monthly credit totals but no per-song credit cost, so we cannot give a song count for Udio.
Does Udio support section replacement like ElevenLabs?
We could not confirm it. ElevenLabs' music page describes selecting a section and regenerating only that part. Udio's pricing table lists Extend songs, and its snapshot did not show a section-replacement feature on any tier.